Changes are automatically saved every 2 minutes as your write and edit your posts and pages. You can see when the last entry was saved in the lower right-hand corner of the editor. The autosave feature can not be turned off. There is only one autosave for each page or post as every two minutes a new one overwrites the previous one.
Autosave on Published Content
If you are editing a post or page that has already been published, autosave continues to save every two minutes, but it will not overwrite any of the published content until you click the blue “Update” button.
If your browser crashes while editing or you go back later to edit a post/page, you will be given a warning at the top of your screen giving your the option to view the autosave:
You can click the “View the autosave” link to make sure you are viewing the latest version. The link will take you to the Revisions page where you can restore the autosave by clicking the blue “Restore” link.
Using Browser Restore
Autosave can’t save if the connection to the internet is lost, so if you go offline while editing a post it will use “Browser Restore” and store your content in your browser’s local storage. When the internet is reconnected, you’ll be given an option to restore the backup at the top of your screen. Clicking the “Restore the backup” option will allow the browser-stored content to pop back into your text editor.